HATED FOR MY NAMESAKE

Matthew : 10:22

You will be hated by all for My name sake. But he who endures to the end will be saved

 

When the Lord said you would be hated for my namesake I never dreamed it would be you

My closest friends and family, along with the  righteous sitting in the  pews

What started this I couldn’t say I was only being me,

But from what I ‘m hearing, I’m not your cup of tea

I spent my early years always fighting, sickness pain and fear

So happy that you came to visit me  and wipe away my tears

I loved you for your kindness my words could not confess

How much I had been blessed by you I held you up there as the best

You were my unsung hero’s that came and saved the day

And my heart was full of love for you for helping me this way

As time went on I chose a path that took me down another road

And introduced me to my Savior who came to save my soul

Joy sprung up like a well-spring and Living water did I taste

And I tried to live a new life stepping out in faith

Going forth as a new member of the Holy House of God

Even though you didn’t understand my journey I knew you’d always cheer me on

My family life expanded as I embraced the people of my church

Intending to do life with them I knew they would never leave me in the lurch

Than times got tough, I made mistakes sometimes I reached for dreams to far

Things fell apart with work and health and  my finances were lost

But what happened next would shatter me I really can’t believe

That my closest friends and family would start to turn on me

They told me that they were ashamed of me and they did resent

All the times that I was sick , Oh ,what a inconvenience they’d lament

We gave enough was their battle cry, your life has sucked us dry

We do not understand you, we hate the way you look and  dress,  so please don’t stop by

But  the days grew darker still and soon the church complained

that I wasn’t making progress in my walk with God and my tongue could not be tamed

And as for my chronic illness I was the one to blame was the consensus for the day

You are  a unrepented sinner that’s why you can’t be healed

God will never use you for His Glory your life reflects the way He feels

All we hear is complaining when you cry  out for us to help

If you were pure of heart you’d just keep the pain to yourself

Despite my broken heart I stayed and tried to be like them

But all my attempts to reach out to them were rebuffed in the end

So here I am just shattered trying to start down the road again

But the thing that s so ironic is Lord you,ve always been my friend

No matter my appearance or how I’ve done You wrong

You love me like a Father should You sing a different song

You always show me mercy, but there is one thing I  just can’t see

Is why the one’s that I loved so much saw no hope in me

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

About mechristandchronicdisease

Poet, dreamer, writer who lives on ten acre farm shared with Husband and soulmate along with numerous furry four footed creatures. Passionate about Jesus Christ and the way he can transform a life.
This entry was posted in Christian Living, Christian Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

